Structure & Definitions

  • The Equality Indicators measure equality at four different levels—indicator, topic, theme, and citywide.

    Indicator Level

    • Lowest level
    • Comprised of 96 indicators
    • 86 of these indicators compare most- and least-likely-to-be disadvantaged groups on a particular outcome using ratios
    • The remaining 10 indicators are expressed as numbers (rates or percentages) for one particular group only
      • For example, for hate crime victimization, although disadvantaged populations include racial and religious minorities and LGBTQ, it is not apparent what their hate-crime victimization rates should be compared to. Similarly, for disability and taxi accessibility, there is no relevant point of comparison.

    Topic Level

    • Second-lowest level
    • 24 topics (4 indicators per topic)
    • For example, the indicator on disability and unemployment is included under the broader topic of Employment.

    Theme Level

    • Second-highest level
    • 6 themes (4 topics per theme)
    • Themes include: (1) Economy; (2) Education; (3) Health; (4) Housing; (5) Justice; and (6) Services.
    • The topic of Employment, for example, is included under the theme of Economy

    City level

    • Highest level
    • 1 framework (with 6 themes)
    • At this level, all six themes and the 96 individual indicators underlying them, produce a measure of equality citywide.